Seaside Adventure.

The sun appeared! The sun actually came out from behind the clouds and shone… in England. I know, I’m just as confused as you are. However, this did mean that my friends and I jumped to, pulled on our coats (just ’cause the suns shining doesn’t mean it’s not a bit nippy) and went for a stroll.

BEACH1CKC copy

We decided that the seaside is where it’s at, so we synched our watches, jumped in cars and on trains and pootled off to find the sea and a good meeting point. That point was as close to a soft serve ice cream vendor as possible. Who doesn’t want a 99? For anyone who doesn’t know, a 99 is typically known as a vanilla soft serve (one of those below) with a chocolate flake stuck in it.

ICE CREAMCKC copy

It’s not every day you can wander along a seafront comfortably and it is one of my absolute favourite places. There’s a sense of beauty and calm I feel around water. I think the movement of the waves and the way the sea seems ethereal yet deadly at the same time is relatively hypnotic. I don’t know why I love it so much.

Maybe I’m actually a mermaid.

BEACH2CKC copy

We also found a fairy castle! I stood there looking at it like a right div, for about 20 minutes, completely mystified by a concrete, cartoon sculpture. It was just such a sweet, unexpected and fairly odd thing to stumble across in amongst the rocks, trees and pathways. It made the blisters worth while (note to self: don’t give your new high tops their inaugural trip paired with trainer socks and a 5 mile walk.)

CASTLECKC copy

What can I say, I’m a big believer in fairies. As a kid, I used to have a fairy house right next to my DIY snail hotel, worm spa and ladybird villas. Six year old Kate: catering for all garden dwelling creatures… that I liked.

Ah, the great outdoors… sometimes you can be alright.

ckcsignoff

3 thoughts on “Seaside Adventure.

  1. Jess Wen says:

    When in England *the sun appears* GET ME AN ICE CREAM AND A DECKCHAIR!!! xD your trip to the seaside sounds so lovely!! I agree, the great outdoors can be lovely in a bit of sun πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

