Always Remember…

I’ve let myself down massively of late. 2016 is kicking my arse and it’s December and I’m still trying to figure out how to kick back.

PierCKC

However, as my Nan always says “we manage.” We keep going, soldiering on. We survive, that’s what we do. We keep going.

I’ve allowed negativity to overwhelm me. That old pessimistic brain is slowly getting out of it’s box and flobbing back into my head cavity like a jellyfish on the sand. It’s making my moods flip flop more than a unisex sandal and everything is rubbish. Even things I love are just a pile of 💩.

If I were in Mean Girls I would be sitting with the ‘girls who eat their feelings.’ I’ve been baaad. I’ve just not tried. Sometimes there’s no point trying. You can’t be a saint all  the time. Sometimes you just want a chinese and too many prawn crackers followed by Ben and Jerry’s which you shouldn’t eat but you do because why not?

Version 2

But when I get swept up in this kind of thinking, I try my hardest to remind myself of six core motos that I want to live by.

When your heart hurts, just remember…

Always be yourself and be true to yourself. You are the only companion you will have forever.

It’s never too late to change.

Always strive to be a better version of you and not those around you. You work at your own pace and your life advances at your speed, not others.

Being kind, compassionate and showing humility is more important than having a finger on the pulse.

Interests are tailored to each individual for a reason. You don’t have to like the same things as anyone else. You are no less of a person if you don’t like the same things as someone you admire. 

You can’t make someone like you. As a friend, colleague, companion or more. Don’t get caught up in trying to appeal to one person. If it’s not going to happen, don’t force it. 

Sometimes, when life feels rubbish and the world seems to be testing your mental strength and ability to remain true and positive, you just need to remind yourself that it’s ok to be you. In fact, it’s better to be you than it is to try and be anyone else and it’s better to keep yourself happy than trying to keep everyone else happy. Making everyone else happy is an unreachable feat that will forever keep you low and feeling defeated.

Things happen for a reason. Follow your heart, use your head, keep putting one foot in front of the other, hold your chin high, breathe deep and carry on.

basic banner_Fotor

2 thoughts on “Always Remember…

Leave a Reply

