Triple Chocolate, Nutella & Salted Caramel Stuffed Cookies!

IMG_1981_Fotor_Fotor

I’ve never felt the need to give a cookie a good stuffing, but once you’ve done it you’ll never want a non-stuffed cookie again.

I’ve adapted the recipe from Izy Hossacks’s blog Top With Cinnamon, a fabulous blog full of mouthwatering recipes (no, honestly, I legit got a bit dribbly and tummy rumbly reading through her posts). Honestly, all the Gods need to bless this woman for bringing this recipe into my life. It’s become one of my favourites almost instantly.

I originally baked these as a treat for a particularly long work shift but they went down so well with everyone, apart from my Nan who said they were too chewy and chocolatey… take from that what you will, that I thought I’d bake them again for my birthday. Super rich, chocolatey, fudgey and with that gooey surprise centre, they are bound to go down well (unless my Nan is about.)

IMG_1980_Fotor

The original recipe is here: Izy’s Salted Caramel + Nutella Stuffed Double Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe – and also has a handy step by step video collab with the guys over at Sorted Food.

I always say go by the original recipe (unless you’re making a change due to allergies, etc) and if it doesn’t look right, bake a trial cookie and see what happens before adjusting it. That way you don’t bugger it up prematurely and at least give it a go in respect to the person who wrote it. However, just to let y’all know what I did (after my trial cookie went a bit wrong and goopy and weird) I’ll list my adapted version below.

INGREDIENTS

110g melted butter.

350g soft, light brown sugar.

55g coco powder.

2 medium eggs. (The size of the egg is what I think threw my second batch. I used large and had to play around adjusting the flour, baking powder and coco powder to fix the runny consistency.)

1/4 tsp salt.

1 tsp baking powder.

280g plain flour.

50g dark chocolate chips.

50g milk chocolate chips.

Nutella (around 5 tbsp-ish.)

Salted caramel (I used the Tesco Salted Caramel Dessert Sauce and it worked a treat, but I also tried Izy’s method of using a caramel filled chocolate and that worked too (I sq. of Dairy Milk Caramel did the trick for me.)

Dr. Oetker salted caramel crunch (optional.)

METHOD.

1. Preheat your oven to 180°c (fan assisted, if not then adjust to whichever oven you have.) Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Mix together the butter, sugar and eggs.13940017_10154397111986310_1886157179_o (1)_Fotor

3. Add the coco powder, salt and baking powder and mix well.

4. Add the flour and stir until completely
combined, no white powder to be seen hanging about in this recipe.

13931575_10154397113291310_16306147_o (1)_Fotor

5. Add your chocolate chips (if they don’t seem to stick to the rest of the dough, that’s ok. Mine didn’t either at this point.)

13898342_10154397113591310_1728225476_o (1)_Fotor

6. Take a rough tbsp of dough, roll it into a ball and place on the baking tray. (If it seems a little too sticky, add a touch more flour. If it sticks to the tips of your fingers, make sure you haven’t got any rogue dough on your hands before handling the mixture).

7. Make a well in the centre of the dough ball. Add half a tsp of Nutella and half a tsp of caramel sauce (or just shove it in until it’s full, not necessarily in equilibrium, it’s totally up to you, chef.)

IMG_1965_Fotor

8. Take half a tbsp of dough and flatten it out, laying it over the top of your dough ball and sealing the edges (like a little hat.) You could add a few pieces of the Salted Caramel Crunch on top for decoration now if you fancy it, so it bakes into the cookie and doesn’t fall off.

13918839_10154397118266310_406445421_o (1)_Fotor

9. Repeat until you have filled your tray, remembering to leave enough room between them so they can spread in the oven. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

10. Let cool on the tray for a minute before gently transferring to a cooling rack.

IMG_1973_Fotor

basic banner_Fotor

9 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate, Nutella & Salted Caramel Stuffed Cookies!

  1. All Thyme Favourites says:

    Guess what? These are great for a blog recipe. Guess what they’re not great for? My diet. So thanks, thanks a lot for posting what is literally all my favourite sweet things in one beautiful cookie!

    No seriously, thanks. Look amazing.

    • Clumsy Koi Carp says:

      They really are! I couldn’t stop at just one… it’s even worse when they’re still warm from the oven! I can’t help tinkering with them either, it’s fun to be creative with it all. I’ve just bought some salted caramel flavouring to add to the next batch… just one more tweak and I promise I’ll leave it alone 😛

Leave a Reply

