Allergic to my Face | Blogmas 2015 | Day 17

Honestly, the last three days I have had a pounding headache the entire time I’m at work. I assumed I was ill. My Mum assumed I was stressed. My Dad assumed I was tired, however, yesterday there was an odd turn of events.

On top of my vice like headache, bloodshot eyeballs and runny nose, I felt like I had been punched in the face. When I got home, after the longest day yet, I looked in the mirror and noticed a pea size lump under my tear duct. The more I looked, the more I noticed, the entirety of my under eye was red and swollen.

Not again.

This has happened before. The worst time I woke up with dried blood trickling down from my eyes like a horror film. I went straight off to the Doctor who told me I had an allergic reaction to something I had put near my eyes. So make up was off the menu.

Around once a year, I’ll have this reaction. It tends to be when I wear make up a lot. Not a lot of make up and little bit, but a little bit of make up a lot. I can cake that stuff on for one night and I’m fine. I even stuck craft glitter to my eyes once and nothing, but a little bit of mascara every day for a couple of weeks and its the return of Captain Puffy Eye.

The discomfort is unreal. I’m taking medication to fix it, but when you’re a bit self conscious and are coming into contact with over 1000 people a day, not wearing make up is an incredibly daunting option. I make sure any make up coming near my eyes is hypoallergenic, but apparently I’m allergic to that too. Even my own tears make my eyes itch. I’m in my early twenties and I’m falling apart. Ugh.

Β basic banner_Fotor

4 thoughts on “Allergic to my Face | Blogmas 2015 | Day 17

  1. Tiegan says:

    God, I know the feeling.

    I’ve had a facial allergic reaction 3 times in the past year. The first time was the worst. I’d put some Nivea “Aftersun” on my face, because I got sunburnt that day, but I woke up the next morning and my face had ballooned. My eyes looked like someone had punched them and my face felt way too hot.

    I went to the doctor, and he put me on meds that I’d have to take for 9 days, gradually reducing the dose. He didn’t seem to think there was any need for me to find out what it was. Against my morals, when it happened again, I just did the same as what I did the first time.

    I wish I knew what exactly the allergen was.

    Good luck tackling this problem!

  2. Haylee says:

    Ouch 😦 I hope it clears up for you soon. I don’t think people often appreciate how severe eye pain can be and then having to deal with it and face the world is rubbish. Take care.

Leave a Reply

