Mumma Bear is Under the Weather | Blogmas 2015 | Day 13

12386580_10153809638961310_1053441337_n

Doesn’t it suck when you’re trying to be happy and excited but you just can’t bring yourself to do it? The pain running through my body, the feeling of a vice squeezing my head and my eyes feeling like they were going to fall out of their sockets, just made my usual aim of a Disney-like manor a little hard to achieve.

I woke up this morning looking like the Ghost of Christmas Past i.e so white I was almost see through. I felt absolutely horrific and had the whole day ahead of me. Lucky me. I just had to suck it up, sniff it up (eww, Kate, staaap) and pootle on. No matter how much you love your job, there are times like this you just want to be curled in a ball in the middle of your mattress, feeling sorry for yourself and indulging your oncoming existential crisis.

When I walked into work this morning  I was greeted with, “eww, you don’t look well.” Charming bunch aren’t they? Yet, part of me kind of appreciated the fact that they could tell I wasn’t feeling 100%. When you’re feeling so unwell, and in pain too, it’s nice to have people steer clear of you unless they have something important or nice to say. I don’t know whether that makes me a Grinch or a normal person.

I managed the day with a little help from my friends and my “just in case” bag. My handbag, or the walking pharmacy/convenience store as my friends seem to think of it, is full of rubbish. Old receipts, empty packets, sweet wrappers… the list in endless. However, amongst the junk, I actually have useful things such as plasters, painkillers, extra socks… the works. I guess I took Mary Poppins’s bag seriously and recreated it, but for the every day adult.

You know you’re the Mumma Bear of the group when you have an entire bag dedicated to the possible ailments of you and your friends.

The Mum of the group: they’re prepared so you don’t have to be.

basic banner_Fotor

Leave a Reply

