Improvised Panto! | Blogmas 2015 | Day 10

12386617_10153804607656310_1691785371_n_Fotor

Brunch. It’s all about the brunch. It was meant to be breakfast, but someone (not me at all… maybe) wanted a lie in. It was my day off today and I wanted to spend most of it being as lazy as possible. I have to say the messy bun, no make up and pjs look is amongst my top three. Just call me Coco Chanel darling. Yet I was looking suitably human enough to be let out in public at this hour, so I scooted off to the local greasy spoon. It made me think, maybe I should try and get up earlier more often, especially if I’m going to get a fry up out of it. Yes, yes you can ply me with food.

Then it all went downhill because instead of plodding off home myself and my friend going to get her car fixed… we may have accidentally ended up in The Range. I don’t even know how we got there! It’s all blur! (Hi. My name is Kate and I have a crafting addiction.)

I ended up buckling and buying a set of those light up presents. I live in an incredibly small house. I have no where to put these, but I wanted, nay, needed these tacky Christmas lights. FYI: they are much bigger than you would initially think.

However, at eight pm it was time for my first panto of the year, but this was unscripted, unrehearsed and completely reliant on the audience. I couldn’t think of anything more terrifying as a performer. This pantomime was improvised, songs and dances included. I cry laughed the entire evening. Dick Whittington and his Giant Gorilla with 80s pop rock in the style of The Thunderbirds was, simply put, one of the funniest things I have ever seen. Improv is a style that is so raw and in the moment, that it reminds you why live theatre should always remain live and everyone should just enjoy being there and seeing it with their own eyes.

basic banner_Fotor

Leave a Reply

