Leaky Rafters and Snowflakes! | Blogmas 2015 | Day 4

12342969_10153792299326310_918514986_o_Fotor

 

It’s my day off and therefore it’s time to erect the tree (haha, I said erect.)

Yes, we have a fake tree. It’s just a tad less messy, I don’t have to try and keep it alive, there’s no bugs in it and, to be honest, I don’t actually like the smell of pine all that much. So it was time to drag the tree coffin down from the loft and start playing with colour coded metal and plastic before getting so fed up that I want to tear my hair out.

Let’s put it in perspective though. It’s been a long day. At 6.30am, I woke up to a lot of commotion as my parents (who I still live with because I’m poor) had discovered our bathroom ceiling was about ready to fall through. The boiler tank in the loft had sprung a leak and when we peeled back the insulation… I’m surprised there wasn’t ducks swimming in the pond that had formed in our rafters.

Merry Christmas. Here, have a leaky roof.

The ceiling was still more stable than my sanity after being bombarded by tinsel and creepy Santas.

I got tangled in garlands, covered in glitter, cut myself on fairy lights (because apparently you can do that) and got incredibly frustrated over the placement of my lanterns. #FirstWorldProblems.

A highlight of my day was an unexpected visit from my friend, who just wanted to drop a DVD back that I had leant to her (it was a recording of the Broadway production of Shrek: the Musical, which she wanted to watch after we worked with an ex-Princess Fiona.) She also dropped off a christmas card for me, which was incredibly sweet. That girl has most definitely got her festive sh*t together. What was even nicer was that she made it herself and the front of the card was actually a christmas ornament that she had crocheted for me! How sweet is that?! Gah, her creativity puts me to shame.

Packet cards for everyone, love me.

I have some incredibly talented, generous and wonderful friends.

 

basic banner_Fotor

 

7 thoughts on “Leaky Rafters and Snowflakes! | Blogmas 2015 | Day 4

  1. Briale Morand says:

    Packet cards forever! Lol, I’m a packet card-giver myself. Really though, most of my friends appreciate that I even thought of them — as I’m sure yours do as well.
    Hope your ceiling has gotten its sh*t together! Happy Christmas!

  2. Haylee says:

    That card is gorgeous… Will she take orders?! 😉 that’s rubbish about the ceiling though. I’m sure things like that wait to happen until something major or stressful is going on. It’s like a jealous little sister throwing a tantrum because something else is getting all the attention! Hope it gets sorted soon.

    • Clumsy Koi Carp says:

      Isn’t it just! I don’t think she will but I would definitely suggest it to her. She crocheted me a 3D teacup for my birthday which was super cute too! She’s so clever. I think so too! It all happens when you really don’t have the time to fix it. That’s the perfect way of describing it: like a bratty little sister. Thank you, the ceiling is sorted for the moment but who knows what could happen 😋

Leave a Reply

