Nutty Nails – Barry M review

It was a buy-one-get-one-half-price in Superdrug ok? I know I don’t need any more nail polish, but I really wanted to get a neutral shade, instead of all those neon colours I’ve been hoarding from my “alternative” phase. Therefore, whilst I was browsing the wracks I spotted a few lighter, more natural shades in the Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine range, eventually going for the colour Almond, 525.

IMG_2885

I have a love for Barry M, since the colours are bold, bright and incredibly pigmented. They seem to last for quite a while as well. I have a bright yellow and slime green that are still going strong about 5 years on! As stated on the bottle, you really do need a base coat with Barry M nail polishes, simply to protect your nails. The colours are so intense and so pigmented, they can stain. I went with my Maybelline Dr. Rescue All in One, as per. I also used this as a top coat too because… all in one duh! Why buy two when you could just buy one?! I’m on top of this nail biz I tell you!

I also paired this colour with a mixed texture, champagne gold glitter from Beauty Box. It doesn’t have a specific name, it was just one of those ones I saw in a set in a charity shop and thought, “ooo bargain!”

12092390_10153692994161310_1321315375_n

As I have said before, Barry M polishes are incredibly pigmented, and this is no exception. One relatively thick coat and I was ready to go. I found that the consistency is great too. Not super thin, leaving you with streaks or uneven layers and not so thick it’s gloopy and sticking to everything, leaving dog-eye-booger-esque strings from pot to nail.

It dries relatively quickly, quicker than I thought for a polish of this consistency and leaves an okay shine. It’s not as shiny as you would expect when the phrase “hi-shine” is in it’s name. The finish is little bit hit and miss with a few of my nails looking really polished and a few looking rather dull once dried. Nothing you can’t fix with a good top coat, but still, that was a little disappointing. That may, however, have just been me not having the patience to let it dry fully before getting ants in my pants and needing to do something.

12092394_10153692995136310_1385441379_n

The colour is lovely, but a little odd. It actually seems to have a purple tinge to it once it dries (something I am not opposed to). The longer I wore it, the more purple it seemed to get. Even my friends asked me if it was a shade of purple or a fawny brown. They couldn’t even tell. I think if you are wanting a very neutral colour, maybe Lychee would be a better shade for you.

The wear on it was relatively good. For someone who works with their hands a lot, after around 3 days there was only a little bit of wear on the tips, which is unavoidable really. I would think it could last you up to 5 days before it needed re-doing, depending on your top/base coat, what you’re doing, how many coats you put on and the condition of your nails. I was happy with it and have worn it several times. I feel that a little touch of sparkle is needed to lift it, but I say that about everything.

A lovely neutral shade, with good pigmentation and good wear.

basic banner_Fotor

2 thoughts on “Nutty Nails – Barry M review

    • Clumsy Koi Carp says:

      Aww thanks! I do love a good berry colour, but I’m still clinging onto the last dregs of summer so wanted to wear a lighter colour. I’m saving the burgundies for Christmas and the blood red for Halloween! x

Leave a Reply

