D.I.Y Chalkboard Bunting Week Planner!

IMG_9820_CKC

Recently I have been living out of my diary, but when I’m on the phone to a colleague or trying to make plans with a friend, I never have it to hand. I realised that the free calendar you get from IFAW (when you support the charity, obvs) is simply not big enough to house the plans for an entire family. Therefore, whilst I was browsing the shelves in the most dangerous shop my bank account knows of (the craft/knick knack shop), I came across a few things which inspired me to create a D.I.Y week planner for myself, that I could hang wherever I felt was the most appropriate.

It is super simple and anyone can make it!

This project was undertaken in two parts for two reasons: false advertising and my own gullibility. Hence why the pictures were taken in different locations and not everything is included in the first picture. For this project, you will need:

IMG_9793_CKC

Some string/ribbon (don’t cut it yet!)

Black card (or any card, I just think black gives the cleanest finish)

A hole punch (or a pencil and some blu tack)

A ruler

A pencil

Scissors

Chalkboard stickers

Pegs

A marker pen

Any decorations you want to add

-OR-

If you’re lazy like me, you can buy any kind of pre-made kit you can find that contains these bits a bobs. I bought mine, in the picture above, from a shop called The Range. They were £1 each, which is why I decided to buy them!

Now, this is where the explanation comes in.

I should have been able to throw this kit together in twenty minutes and hey, presto! Alas, I was taken in by the too good to be true false advertising on the £1 merchandise shelf.  The kit pictured above is in no way, shape or form, a chalkboard. It is, in fact, just the black card already cut and hole punched.

Therefore, I went online (Amazon) and purchased a roll of self adhesive chalkboard paper (the technical, long name, for anyone that wants to have a look, is ‘Self-adhesive Blackboard Wall Sticker total size 200 x 45cm’). It arrived on time, works well, was easy to cut, came with 5 different coloured chalks and was around £5.00.

On with the tutorial!

Step 1: First thing you will need to do is draw, with a ruler, the shape of your bunting flags.

IMG_9803_CKC

Make sure you remember to account for at least 1.5 cm at the top of your flag, so you can punch your holes, and make the rest of it big enough to write on. You can stick with traditional triangles, which are probably the easiest shape for this, or you could do something more arty. It’s completely up to you! Once you are happy with the shape and have cut your first one out, use it as a template to cut out the rest. You will need 7 or 8 for the planner, but you might want to make a couple of spares!

Step 2: Punch your holes in the top of your flags.

IMG_9800_CKC

You could be precise and measure your flags so you get them in the right places, or just go for it. If it were me, I would go in with all the intention of measuring it, get half way through and just start punching the holes by sight. I guess it would depend on how much patiences I had that day. You just do you though, nothing wrong with either way.

If you don’t have a hole punch, place a blob of blu tack behind the area you want to put a hole in, then with a sharp, round pencil, pierce a hole through the card and into the blu tack. Be careful not to rip your card and if you need help ask for it!

Step 3: Measure, draw and cut out your chalkboard stickers. Stick them to your flags.

IMG_9849_CKC

Just remember to leave the holes you have punched uncovered! You can, of course, attempt to  swap step 3 and 4, so you punch through both the card and the chalk board paper. However, I think going through both may be a little bit tough and might break your hole punch. So, do what you want to do and try what you want to try, but do it at your own risk!

Step 4: Thread your flags onto ribbon or string, making sure they are all chalkboard side up.

IMG_9810_CKC

(I know these flags don’t have the chalkboard paper attached, but once I got the paper I did attach it, leaving a little strip containing the holes without chalkboard paper). Remember to space your flags out according to how you would like them to hang and how much room you have to hang the finished bunting. You need remember to leave enough string/ribbon on each end so you can hang your bunting, before you cut it to size.

Step 5: Write the days of  the week on your pegs and decorate them. Then attach them to your flags.

 

IMG_9815_CKC

The pegs I managed to find already had the days of the week printed on them (and were part of my inspiration) so I could simply go ahead and attach them to my flags. You could paint your pegs, decorate them, print the days of the week, use stickers, draw pictures or simply write on them, the decision is yours. Attach your pegs to the top left corner of each flag (since we read left to right, so scanning your ‘diary’ will be easier that way), making sure that the peg holds the string tightly in the right place, so your flags don’t slide on the string.

Step 6: Hang!

 

IMG_9817_CKC

And there you have it! Beautiful, vintage, useful and made by your own fair hands.

You can hang this bunting wherever you like, and the best thing about it is that because it is not stuck together, just unclip the pegs, untie your loops and your can move the flags around and dismantle it as much as you like! You can customise it, use what you have laying around, change it up and make it something that works for you. That’s the best part of a D.I.Y project!

basic banner_Fotor

Leave a Reply

